top of page

Men's Basketball preparing for a promising season ahead

As Fall rolls in, workouts start back up for this upcoming basketball season. Although basketball is a winter sport, our school basketball team starts workouts early for anyone who would like to get some practice in before tryouts.

“[I am] excited [for the upcoming season],”assistant varsity coach Roderic Joseph said. “I think that if we work hard and work together then we will have a chance to do something some people might not think we are capable of doing.”

When preparing for a basketball game, each player has their own routine to help them focus before playing. Most players say these routines help them play better and win games.

“Before games I just go into the locker room and pray that my grandmother is watching over me while [I am] playing,” sophomore Jacob Walker said.

Northern High School hopeful basketball players watch as a three- point shot travels towards the hoop. Northern High School held basketball tryouts starting on Tuesday October 30th, 2018

All players have certain abilities that they are working on for this upcoming basketball season that they think will benefit them and the team.

“[I am] working on my leadership this season because I want to make sure everyone gets involved,” senior Xzavier Mcfadden said.

Along with all of the hard work and practice, all players have a goal that they want to accomplish in the upcoming season.

“[I would like to] work on my shooting,” sophomore Jaques Peaks said. “My goal is to try and score the most points during games.”

Workouts is the time to see some new talent needed on the basketball team and work on new skills to surprise everyone during the season.

“We lost a lot of good players last year so this is a rebuilding year for Northern but I still think [we will] do good overall and maybe surprise some people,” senior Colby Beeker said.

Basketball season is right around the corner and these hopeful players are in workouts practicing to be the best they can be. This season will be full of hard work and possibly some surprises too.

bottom of page