top of page

Seniors begin FAFSA process

Seniors all over Northern have begun and will soon begin preparing to make a decision that could alter the shape of their future: applying for college. There are multiple important steps in this thorough process and Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) ranks at the top of the list. FAFSA is a system that calculates how much money you will receive from the Government which can make a huge difference in choosing a school.

“I do not want to take out a bunch of student loans to help pay for school,” senior Amber Lamont said. “I want to enjoy college and not stress over money the whole time.”

Some students think this application process to be too detailed and find that they may not have all the information needed to fill out the form.

“Although, [the FAFSA application] took a couple days for me and my parents to fill out, it is going to be worth it in the end,” senior Miranda Straubel said. “I will definitely need financial aid because of where I am applying to.”

Counselors, administration, and the college advisor have been working hard to keep the students updated and have lent a hand to many students who are stuck in this process.

“I recommend to students to get the form filled out as soon as possible,” social studies teacher Julia Leopold said. “I can only speak for myself, but I am always here to help out students who may be lost.”

Many students at Northern need money in order to fulfill their dreams at a prestigious school, especially the private universities.

“The application fee alone has put a dent in my pocket,” senior Gace Sorrell said. “just imagining how much money is needed to pay for college is overwhelming.”

Some individuals at Northern may not need as much help financially as others do, students at Northern are very diverse in multiple categories.

“Although I may not receive as much money as the next student anything I can save will be worth it in the future,” senior Brynne Clayton said.

bottom of page