top of page

Women's soccer looks to continue their success from last season

Last year the Women’s Soccer team had a record of 11-6-1 and now we are moving onto the next season. The expectations are set high for freshmen Maeve Cassalia, Baylor Clayton, and Jenny Rivera. They all did very well in middle school and are projected to be very good players in their high school career.

“I am very confident in what I do for myself and others,” freshman Colby Nichting said. “So I am super excited and think [we are] going to do good and try [our] hardest.”

In 2017 the team was being run by new head coach Josh MacIver. In his first year he led the team to a record of 10-7-1. This is his third season coaching at Northern and he plans to continue with the Women’s Soccer team.

“I feel great about the upcoming season,” MacIver said. “This is year three of coaching the team and I feel we have an established base. We have a group with a similar mentality and dedication to winning.”

Many returning sophomores are back and ready to work hard. They were highly rated as freshmen and are only getting better.

“I am looking forward to getting to hang out with everyone on the team, on the field and off,” sophomore Lilly Baker said. “I was motivated [to play] by the game itself because I have always been playing soccer.”

Lilly was awarded with POTG (Player Of the game) twice last season. Also awarded was Alyssa Stone with five, Callie Hammond, Chelsy Huerta with two, Jenna Garrison with two, Michaela Williams, and Katherine Christopher.

All these players worked very hard last season and hope to bring a championship back to Durham.

“I am looking forward to playing the teams that we played last [season] because [we] feel like we have a better dynamic of a team,” junior Makayla Powell said. “We are stronger this year. [Hopefully we will ]win conference and go further in states.”

The team had a win percentage of .668% last season and they hope to improve this upcoming season. They were ranked 418 in states last year. The team's success can be attributed to the players’ experience in the sport.

“I have been playing soccer since I was four,” freshman Baylor Clayton said. “And I have loved playing it ever since.”

MacIver looks forward to this season and pushing the women to be the best player they can be.

“In year three I think as a coach and player you begin to understand each other and it makes it easier at the beginning of the year to get in a groove, MacIver said. I am excited and expect great things from the team this year.”

As the 2019 Women’s Soccer season approaches be sure to keep a look out for all the highly rated freshmen and successful outlook ahead.

bottom of page